Aditif Makanan Halal

Food Additive/IngredientFunctionHalal status
Acacia gum Stabilizer; Emulsifier Halal
Acetic acid 260 Acidulant, preservative, flavoring agent Halal
Acetone Chemical. Used as solvent in spice extracts Halal
Acid Casein Dairy Ingredients. It is a milk protein obtained commercially from skim milk by precipitation with lactic acid or hydrochloric or sulphuric acid. It is Halal if it is Halal or kosher certified because addition of starter culture bacteria. It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate Grain and Plant based ingredients. Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies. Haram
Adipic acid Tartness, acidulant, flavoring agent Halal
Agar Gelling agent; retards sugar crystallization Halal
Albumin Gelling agent; retards sugar crystallization Halal
Agar Gelling agent; retards sugar crystallization Halal
Albumin Protein fortifier, binder. Made from egg white Halal
Alcohol (also called ethanol and ethyl alcohol) A colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent Non-Halal
Alcohol (also called ethanol and ethyl alcohol) A colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent Non-Halal
Algin Suspending and thickening agent; film forming agent; prevents syneresis Halal
Alkali Adjusts alkalinity Halal
Alkali Adjusts alkalinity Halal
Allspice Grain and plant based ingredients. It is a spice of plants origin Halal
Alum A chemical preservative. Mineral, chemical, synthetic based ingredients Halal
Aluminum Ammonium Sulfate A chemical. Mineral, chemical, synthetic based ingredients Halal
Ammonium (Bicarbonate, Carbonate, Chloride, Sulfate) A chemical. Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients. Halal
Ammonium carrageenan Gelling agent Halal (plant)
Amylase (alpha) Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is an enzyme obtained from plant and bacterial sources Halal
Animal Fat May be consumed if from Halal and Non-Halal animals Halal if consumed from Halal sources, Zabihah
Animal shortening Shortening is a type of fat such as lard that is solid at room temperature, and is used for making pastry. Vegetable shortening is Halal
Anise Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a spice of plant origin Halal
Annatto Color Halal
Antioxidant Stabilizes fatty acids Mushbooh
Arrowroot Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a starch obtained from plant rhizomes. Halal
Artificial color/flavor Adds color and/or flavor Questionable. Artificial colors or FD&C colors are chemical dyes and they are Halal if use as is in powder or granular form. If they use as liquid colors a solvent such as vegetable oil or glycerin has to be added. If glycerin is used as a solvent in liquid colors then they are Halal if plant fat glycerin is used, Haram if pork fat glycerin is used.
Ascorbic acid Vitamin C; stabilizer; color preservative Halal
Aspartame Sweetener Halal
Balsamic Vinegar Grain & plant based ingredients. True balsamic vinegar comes from Modena, Italy. Balsamic Vinegar is made from Trebbiano grape which is a sweet white grape which contains high sugar. Some products named balsamic vinegar are really dilutions containing ordinary red-wine vinegar. The grape cooked at about 185 F to obtain concentrated grape juice then cooled in wooden barrels, inoculated with fermentation culture which includes transferring the grape juice to alcohol then to acetic acid and water then they aged for years. Other vinegars are not aged. Since it has higher sugar content then it will produce more alcohol which may not be converted to acetic acid and water. It is also possible they may use wine barrel to provide flavor. It is not made from wine but it is consider as a wine vinegar. Some company may add wine vinegar to get the right flavor. So we do not know what happen during the production of Balsamic vinegar. Wine vinegar and Balsamic vinegar might be Haram.
Basil Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a spice obtained from plant source. Halal
Bay Leaves Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a spice. Halal
Beeswax Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is pure wax obtained from the honeycomb of the bee. Halal
Benzaldehyde A chemical flavorant. Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients Halal
Benzoate of soda Preservative Halal
Benzoic acid Preservative Halal
Beta carotene Colorant, Vitamin A Halal
BHA Butylated Hydroxyanisole Chemical preservative; antioxidant Halal
BHT Butylated Hydroxytoluene Chemical preservative; antioxidant Halal
Broth (from animals) A liquid made by cooking vegetables, meat, seafood, or poultry in water for a long time, used as a base for soups and sauces Halal if consumed from halal sources, Zabihah
Caffein Beverage additive Halal
Calcium carrageenan Thickener; gelling agent; improves body & mouth feel Halal (plant)
Calcium caseinate Protein fortifier, binding agent, whipping agent Halal
Calcium disodium EDTA Sequestrant; stabilizer Halal
Calcium propionate Preservative Halal
Calcium saccharine Sweetener Halal
Calcium salt Flavor enhancer Halal
Calcium sillicate Anti-caking agent Halal
Calcium stearoyl lactylate Whipping agent, dough conditioner, emulsifier Questionable
Calcium sulphate Calcium source, filler, firming agent Halal
Caramel Colorant Halal
Carrageenan Gelling agent; emulsifier; thickener; suspending agent Halal (plant)
Carrot oil Coloring agent Halal
Caseinates Dairy Ingredients, caseinates are milk protein obtained from curding the milk. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
Cellulose gum/CMC/ Carboxymethyl cellulose Stabilizer; solubility; prevents syneresis; retains moisture Halal
Chives Grain and plant based ingredients. It is a plant based spice. Halal
Cochineal/Carmine color Ingredients from insects. It is a red color obtained from insects All insects except locust are Haram in Hanafi Mazhab.
Citrate Prevents crystallisation; enhances flavour Halal
Citric acid Acidulant, antioxidant Halal
Cobalt sulphate Prevents oxidative deterioration Halal
Confectionary Glaze Insect secretion Confectionary Glaze is made by dissolving Shellac in ethyl alcohol then evaporating alcohol. Then It is applied to the surface of the food product. Shellac without alcohol is Halal. It is an insect secretion.
Coriander Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a plant based spice. Halal
Corn starch Anti-caking agent; thickener Halal
Cream Dairy Ingredients. Cream is a milk fat obtained by seperating it from milk. Halal
Cream of Tarter Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a acid potassium salt of tartaric acid occurring as a powder or crystal. In USA & Canada it is made from crushed grapes but in other countries it is made from wine deposits on the wine barrel. Halal
Cultured Corn Syrup Solid Grain and plant based ingredient. Cultured Corn Syrup solid is made by adding bacteria to corn syrup solid for non-alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the pH of the wheat flour. This cultured corn syrup solid is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured Corn Syrup Solid is a Halal flour.
Cultured Cream Lipolyzed Dairy Ingredients. The enzyme used has to be Halal.
Cultured Milk Dairy Ingredients. Questionable. The cultures added to milk has to be from milk sources not from meat. The media use to grow these cultures has to be Halal.
Cultured Wheat Flour Grain and plant based ingredients. Cultured wheat Flour is made by adding bacteria to wheat flour for non-alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the pH of the wheat flour. This cultured wheat flour is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured wheat flour is a Halal flour.
Cumin Grain & Plant based Ingredients. It is a plant based spice. Halal
Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate Grain & plant based ingredients. Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Haram. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
DATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ester of Monoglycerides) Ingredients made from plant or animal fat. It is obtained from fat. Questionable. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Dextrin Emulsifier Halal
Diammonium phosphate Leavening agent Halal
Diglyceride Ingredients made from plant or animal fat It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Dipotassium phosphate Emulsifier; buffering agent Halal
Disodium guanylate Flavor enhancers Halal
Disodium inosinate Flavour adjuvant Halal
Disodium phosphate Emulsifier Halal
EDTA Sequestrant Halal
Enzymes (Microbial Enzymes are okay) Active additives. A protein substance produced in living cells, that influences a chemical reaction within a plan or animal without being changed itself; an organic catalyst. Enzymes help break down food so that it can be digested. Pepsin is an enzyme. Questionable. Halal if consumed from halal sources, Zabihah
Erythorbic acid Chemical preservative Halal
Erythritol A sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit alcoholic fermentation. Haram
Ethanol (Also called ethyl alcohol) A colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent Non-Halal
Ethanol (Also called ethyl alcohol) A colorless liquid, produced by the fermentation of sugar or starch, that is the intoxicating agent in fermented drinks and is used as a solvent Non-Halal
Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides It is obtained from fat. Questionable. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
Ethoxyquin Antioxidant Halal
Ethylvanillin Ethyl Vanillin is differ from vanillin by having ethoxy group (–O–CH2CH3) rather methoxy group (–O–CH3). It is made from Lignin base a pulp from wood or guaiacol. Halal
Fermented Cider Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation. It is a fermented apple juice. Haram
Ferric orthophosphate Nutritive Halal
Ferric orthophosphate Nutritive Halal
Ferrous fumarate Food supplement Halal
Ferrous gluconate Nutrient/ dietary supplement Halal
Fumaric acid Tartness; flavoring agent Halal
Gelatin Gelling agent. May be derived from pork. Questionable. Halal if from fish or halal slaughtered animals
Gellan Gum Grain & Plant based Ingredients. A plant based gum. Halal
Gin A strong colorless alcoholic drink distilled from grain and flavored with juniper berries Non-Halal
Glucon-Delta-Lactone It is a acidulant and used in chemical leavening. Halal
Glutamic acid Flavor enhancer Halal
Gluten Grain & Plant based Ingredients. A plant protein. Halal
Glycerine Moistness. Glycerin is a polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol) used as a humectant. It is made from fat either plant or animal. Questionable
Glycerol Ester It is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified. Questionable
Glycerol monostearate Moistness; emulsifier Questionable
Glyceryl monolaurate Emulsifier Questionable
Glycine Dietary supplement, rancidity retardant Questionable
Guar gum Stabiliser; thickening agent Halal
Gum arabic Emulsifier; thickener; adhesive Halal
Gum base Gum Questionable
Gum tragacanth Thickener; binder; stabiliser Mushbooh
Hydrolysed vegetable protein (HVP) Flavor enhancer Halal
Hydroxylated lecithin Emulsifier. Ingredients made from plant or animal fat Questionable. It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
Inosito5' - Monophosphate Grain and plant based ingredients. Inosito5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies. Haram
Invertase Prevents crystallising Halal
Isopropyl citrate Improves & protects flavour, Antioxidant Halal
Lactic acid Adjusts acidity; flavouring agent Halal (synthetic)
Lactitol Milk based ingredient. Lactitol is a sugar alcohol and made from whey a by-product of cheese making. Questionable. It is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal or Kosher certified sweet whey or acid whey or a Halal or kosher symbol or suitable for vegetarian appears on food package containing Lactitol.
Lactostearin Emulsifier; inhibits spoilage Halal
Lactylate Inhibits spoilage; flavouring agent Halal
Lactylated fatty acid esters Emulsifiers Questionable
Lard The fat of pigs or hogs, melted down and made clear. Lard is made especially of the internal fat of the abdomen and is used in cooking. Non-halal
L-Cysteine Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients. L-Cysteine is a non-essential amino acid and used in bakery products as a reductant or dough conditioner. L-Cysteine is obtained from human hair, chicken/duck feathers and petroleum by products. Questionable. Only Petroleum based L-Cysteine is considered Halal. Lysteine from other sources is not considered Halal.
Lecithin (soy) Emulsifier, dough stabilizer, anti-sticking agent, viscosity reducer, wetting agent Halal
Lipase (Only animal lipase should be avoided) An enzyme produced by the liver, pancreas, or stomach, or by plant seeds, that breaks down fats. Animal lipase should be avoided. Lipase from plant seeds is Halal
Magnesium Carbonate A chemical. Halal
Magnesium Stearate Lubricant, binder, emulsifier, anti-caking agent Questionable. It is Halal if the stearic acid is from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified. It is Haram if the stearic acid is from pork fat.